Reverb Day 4 –

For the month of December, I’m participating in the Reverb ’10 project. Click the button to find out more.

Today’s prompt is about wonder and how I cultivated a sense of wonder in my life this year.

I’m not sure if I did. When I think of a sense of wonder, it makes me think of being a little kid and Santa and the Tooth Fairy and other magical things. I don’t think that as an adult (or a child pretending to be an adult because I pay bills) that I have a sense of wonder anymore.

In some ways, the only thing that comes to mind about having a sense of wonder relates to the goodness that can exist in people.

I’ve known a lot of people. Not all of those people are people that you’d want to know. I’ve known some terribly nasty, mean, cold hearted, evil individuals. I kept those people around in my life for various reasons. Those people made me think that most people are inherently bad. It made me think that there’s very little good left in the world. I knew all these people with so many bad qualities and so few people that had good left in them.

But this year, since I started volunteering and opening my eyes, I realized that most people are inherently good. It’s not everyone that is good. But the more people that I’ve been meeting lately, the more I realize that there are so many good people in the universe.

Being a good person isn’t something that I can do all the time because I’m selfish (I can admit that). But watching people that are good nice people day in and day out? It makes me wonder and it makes me believe. It gives me hope that everything, no matter what it is, is going to work itself out.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 23:46:25

    Gernerally, every time I learn something new (usually in science or nature) I’m filled with wonder. Mostly because despite all that I have learned and my ablity to reason, there are still things that exist/are happening that are beyond my imagination.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

