Reverb Day 8 – I’m a funny girl

In case maybe you missed it, almost all my blog posts during the month of December are inspired by Reverb ’10

Today’s prompt – Beautifully different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

When I got this email, I was out working in the Field and got really excited. Yes I can be that lame. Don’t judge.

I’m not sure what I could say that makes me different. I think that I just am different. I know stupid things about me that make me a little bit different: I laugh at things that might not be funny – I giggle whenever 21 kisses me – I sometimes try to reason with myself out loud – whenever I get bored with life, I decide to bake – I have a love affair with Tony Stark (yes, Iron Man) – I miss my college town so bad that it hurts sometimes – I’m a walking disaster.

But do those things light people up? Probably not. Except for the fact I’m a walking disaster. That’s always a shining light. Whenever I call someone to tell them about how a I walked into a filing cabinet? I bet they laugh.

The one thing that probably does is Best of Sarah. (Time for a shameless plug!) My roommate/soupsnake/very very good friend started this blog about 2 years ago. We would email each other from work and I would say ridiculous things. She would then forward the ridiculous things to people she knew. They would laugh and laugh. So then she decided that she should just cut out the middle man…and have a blog. So the Best of Sarah was born.

I know whenever I’m feeling a bit down or not pleased with myself, I read BoS. Everything is right with the world. Because honestly? I’M FUNNY. Or mostly funny.

I know that I am good at making people smile. I know that I can cut tension in the room by just cracking a simple joke. And honestly, some of the worst times in my life, when I’ve been crying hysterically and thinking how much of a wreck my life is, I’m still laughing at something.

I’m going to say that my sense of humor lights up someone’s life. And if not? At least it lights up mine.

Leave a Reply

