Reverb Day 17 – What I’ve learned

Prompt: Lesson learned. What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward?

I’m not sure what I learned about myself.  In all honesty, there was a time when I didn’t think I would make it to 26.  Or 25.2.  whichever way you want to look at it.  now that I’m here, it’s hard to believe that I am here.  The thing that I learned is that I can carry on.  I can make it through.  And going forward?  Well, I know that i can make it, no matter how bad things are.

And granted, things weren’t THAT bad for me.  I had food to eat and shelter and it’s not like I was in any sort of dire situation.  BUT.  It wasn’t something that I thought would happen.  That’s my point.

Other things I learned this year:

–       Oven mitts with holes in them mean that you will burn your hand

–       No matter how graceful you will try to be, it’s not going to work

–       If you drop a knife?  Let it go

–       Cheese and bread is a totally acceptable meal.  In the words of Soupsnake, WHAT OF IT, FOOD PYRAMID?

–       Once one dog pees on you – all the other ones will too

–       Close the damn windows.  If you think it’s going to rain, it will.  Close the damn windows

–       When your brother gets older, he becomes a person.  and then he’s not so much of a shithead

–       When someone looks at me the wrong way, I bruise.  That’s just how I roll

–       Weird pains happen.  Consistent weird pains are a sign of a problem

–       If your family is insane, charge people admission to see it

–       There still is goodness and it can still melt your heart

I’ve got so much  more to learn…and I’m excited for it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 15:56:47

    Can you imagine if I had to pay admission to see your family? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

