Reverb Day 19 – Healing

Healing. What healed you this year? Was it sudden, or a drip-by-drip evolution? How would you like to be healed in 2011?

When I think about what I’m going to write, it makes me feel stupid.  But the fact of the matter is that it has changed me. 

As I’ve said about a million times before, I volunteer at an animal shelter.  I work as an adoption counselor, helping all the dogs go and find their forever homes.  Most of these dogs have come from really screwed up situations.  Most of them have been abandoned, a fair number of them have been abused and ALL of them were unloved. 

But these dogs, as screwed up as things were for them, learn to trust and love people again.  ANd I find that amazing.  I can be so hateful and carry resentment along with me for a long time.  Hell, I’m still annoyed at stuff that happened to me years ago.  I still carry around all the times I’ve been burned by people and then don’t get into those situations again for fear of what’s going to happen.  With a lot of love and attention, these silly 4-legged creatures begin to understand that not all people are bad.  Not everyone is a mean nasty person.  They trust again, they love again and become super adoptable dogs.

It’s kind of stunning to watch it happen, because it’s not really a sudden change, but you will realize it one day.  You’ll realize that the dog that used to run from you comes running to you because she recognizes the sound of your voice.  It’s crazy but I’ve seen it happen. 
If the dogs can do it, why can’t I?  I can learn that not everyone sucks.  I can be healed by the sheer goodness of people, can’t i?

I can be healed in 2011.  I need to let the right people in, the people that are going to reinforce the ideas that everyone has goodness.  Everyone can love truly.  I can be healed just by being around the right sorts of people.  I think I’ve found some of those people.  Let the healing begin

Leave a Reply

