Reverb Day 23 – Hi, my name is…

Prompt: New name. Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why?

It’s hard to think of yourself with a new name.  Because I’m so very much what my name is, I think.  I mean, yes, every 5th girl born in the 1980s has my name, but still.  It’s me.  My name is who I am.

I think if I had to pick a new name, it would be Charlotte.  It’s very old fashioned, and I like that.  It sounds like it’s proper and well mannered.  And since I am neither of those things, people would be in for quite a surprise.  Charlotte sounds formal.  Charlotte sounds like someone you would want to confide in.   Charlotte is probably all the things that I find I cannot be.  She’s calm, well put together and charming.  She’s quiet and appropriate.  She doesn’t drink too much, she makes good life choices and you know, she’s from Connecticut.

I’m not Charlotte though.  I’m me.  I’m the anti-Charlotte.  And while it would be nice to think that one day, I might settle down and be a little less…wacky…I like the way I am.  I like making people laugh, I like sometimes (mostly) making a scene and I like being the loud and outspoken one.  I’m so not Charlotte.

Charlotte is also my grandmother’s name.  I think she embodies a Charlotte far more than I ever could, but it’s nice to dream.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 23:05:31

    I always thought I could be a Samantha or Sam. Maybe it’s because it rhymes with my name, but I’ve always though it pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

