Dear Mother Nature – Suck it. Love, Sarah

Don’t get me wrong. I love the snow. I do. It’s awesome. I dig the cold, I like snowstorms and whatever – but when snow gets in the way of me doing things that I want to do? I am not pleased.

I can’t remember a winter where it snowed as much in Connecticut as it has this past winter. It’s seriously been snowing like, once a week for the past month. And it’s due to snow again on Friday. And really? I’ve got things I’d like to do. None of them involve being stuck in my house because I can’t get my SUV out of the driveway. When I’m stuck in my house, I’m generally stuck there with my mom. We all know how that goes.

So I’ve got my eyes on spring. Granted, there are 60 days left until the official start of spring, but it’s nice to hold on to that thought. I think my body needs the sun. I’ve been feeling so MEH lately. I’m not sad, I’m not really happy, I’m just existing. And when I’m just existing, I don’t really feel overwhelmingly happy.

Except when I do. When 21 says something that almost brings me to tears with how sweet it is? Then I’m really happy. Or when I get out of work early. Or when something really unexpected and wonderful happens. But normal daily life isn’t doing it for me like it was before. Around Christmas time, just the fact that I was up and about and seeing my friends was enough to make me happy because OMG CHRISTMAS TIME COOKIES PRESENTS I LIKE YOU was going on. Now? Not so much.

I’m not too far off from going out and buying a happy light. But I’m also ready for whatever switch flipped inside me that is making me sad panda to flip back and make me my normal awesome self. I’m waiting. I really am.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 22:22:01

    2 words- global warming. If the water isn’t in the ice caps, then it’s got to go somewhere…

    Also, Sister Carol Ann mentioned that there were only 60 days until spring today. I guess the weather is really getting to everyone. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

