Ten On Tuesday: Tuesday can suck it edition

Chelsea from Roots and Rings does this thing called Ten on Tuesday. And since my blog is sometimes…lacking…I decided to play along
1. How did your parents decide on your name?
Sarah was my great grandma’s name. I don’t think my dad had any imput on that.

2. Do your initials (First, Middle, Last) spell out anything fun/funny?
My initials spell out SEE. I was dating a guy with a last name that started with A and my friend told me that I should totally marry him because then my initials would be SEA and it would be a different word but sound the same. I did not think this was a good idea.

3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you take your maiden name as your middle name? (If unmarried, what do you plan to do?)
I’m not sure what I will do. My middle name is Elizabeth – I could take it or leave it.

4. Are you or will you name your children thematically (ie. same first letter, all of same origin…)
I probably won’t. My parents sort of did that – they are Bill and Jill and they have a son, Will. And then Sarah and Jamie. Sooo…didn’t work so well. I’ll probably name my kids whatever I feel like.

5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?
I probably did – although I don’t remember any of them. That’s not surprising, as I don’t remember a lot of things.

6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?
There are a lot of Williams in my family – my grandpa, my dad and my brother. Other than that, not a lot of names get passed down.

7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?
It will just be the name. Although my name means Princess and there’s really no doubt that I am one.

8. Do you name pets with human names (Sally, Henry) or with pet names (Fluffy, Mr. Bo Bo)?
All of our pets have had human names: Leroy, Lizzie, Nellie, Mandy, Jake, Jack and Oliver. The debate over the name of the puppy (that we haven’t even found yet) rages on. I’m all for Cooper and Beau and I think I’m alone on that.

9. Are there any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?
Of course. I don’t like Matthews or Michaels or Josephs. And for girls? It’s Sara. Saras without hs are flat out TROUBLE. Heard it here first.

10. What are some of your favorite names? Why?
I think I change my mind too much to ever pick a favorite name. I really like Jeremy and Jackson for boys. As for girls? Meh. Maybe Samantha and Charlotte (nothing to do with Sex and The City, just names I happen to like)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 23:52:48

    I think homophones are a great reason to do anything!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

