Getting old

I’ve been invited out for both Friday and Saturday night. And considering how sadpants I’ve been about, well, lots of things lately, I thought about going out. Then I realized that I couldn’t go out two nights in a row.

And why? Because I am OLD.

The thought of going out for 2 nights – drinking, dancing, singing, shouting, being up late – has exhausted me. I haven’t even left the house. It’s not even the weekend. But I’m tired just thinking about being up that late.

This past weekend, I was at the bar on Saturday night watching the Uconn game. It was an important game and the bar was pretty packed. I remember sitting there and thinking that there were way too many people around..and that it was way too loud in that bar. Someone needed to turn the sound or the music or the people down. Then it hit me just how old I’m getting. I’m not even 27 and I’m turning into an old lady.

Back in the day, I could go out and drink every night of the week. I could stay up until 2 AM and still make it to class in the morning. I could pump my body full of all sorts of beer and pizza and D.P. Dough and still look great the next day. But now? Now if I drink too much, I wake up with a nasty hangover and an overwhelming urge to die on the spot. I just can’t do it anymore. I can’t push myself to party like I used to because just the idea of it makes me tired.

I’m going to embrace it though. Since my cousin is pregnant, at least I have a reason for staying in – to spend time with her. Now it just means that I have to plan when I’m going out and get myself psyched up prior to going out. It means that I can apply for my AARP card sooner rather than later. And it means that when I don’t feel like going out? I can play the “I’m kinda old now” card.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 00:38:19

    Wish me luck as I try to pull it off! 🙂 At least I found out my softball game is Saturday afternoon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

