Yesterday was…not so good

Here’s the thing about my dad – he’s a real dude.  That’s the only way to put it.  He doesn’t flinch away from pain, he only goes to the doctor when he’s like, dying and getting stitches?  No big deal to him.  He takes out his own stitches if he can.  He’s hardcore.  He’s just…I don’t know.  He’s really pretty healthy, considering how hard he works.  My dad is a landscaper.  He plows snow and delivers wood in the winter.  He’s a busy guy and he works himself to the bone, but I know he loves it.

Plus, he can buy big trucks and then drive them around. BONUS.

My dad had some sort of lump in his neck.  The doctor found it during my dad’s physical.  Thankfully, my mom works with an endocrinologist, and we were able to get him an appointment right away.  They biopsied the lump.  As it turns out, my dad has thyroid cancer.

It could be worse.  It could be much worse.  But it’s the C word.  My grandpa died of the C word.  And it’s terrifying to all of us.  But they will remove his thyroid and he’ll (hopefully) be okay.

I’m having a hard time with this.  Maybe because no matter what has happened to my dad, he’s always been fine.  It’s never really required anything major and he bounces back quickly.  But having his thyroid removed?  That’s not going to be easy on him and it’s not going to be easy for us.  My dad does not take to “bed rest” well.  He doesn’t sit still – unless it’s 11 PM and he’s fallen asleep in his chair.  He doesn’t ever take time off from work (save for 1 week in August to go to Cape Cod) and he’ll never admit defeat.

Things will be different around my house for a while.  My dad hasn’t told my grandma what’s going on yet – and we haven’t really told anyone outside of my mom and my brother.  My dad knows that he needs to tell everyone what’s going on.  And I know that no matter how insane my family is (which is very insane), they will pull together and be so supportive that it will be disgusting.  I know my uncles will pitch in and my aunts will come to visit and we’ll have everyone we need around us.  We’re a family, and we stick together.

It’s still scary.  Things could still go badly.  But we’ll be okay.  We always are.  And my dad?  He’s one tough dude.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 16:53:02

    This doesn’t have so much to do with your post as it does the photo. A lot has changed since then, hasn’t it?

    Reply

  2. LovelyAnomaly
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 21:41:05

    Ooph. I just found your blog through Twitter, and it seems as though I’ve found you in a rough life moment. I’m sending you lots of good vibes and healthy thoughts. My dad is totally the same way about pain and doctors. All the best.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

