Is this real life?

As I’ve mentioned, Gilmore and I broke up.  I did the breaking up with him, but we remained friends on Facebook.  We also said that with time, we would maybe be friends in real life.  Like, hanging out friends.  But that was with time.  I know that it wouldn’t be for a while, possibly a few months.  I haven’t contacted him or said anything to him since the breakup.  I haven’t had anything to say.  I’ve remained silent and really, the head of the Frosty Ice Princess Alliance.

Lately I’ve been getting tired of his constant emo status updates, his whiney posts about nonsense and basically everything he had to say.  Also, I found myself being VERY concerned with whose wall he was posting to.  And I shouldn’t care about those things.  I broke up with him.  I cannot concern myself with what he’s doing.

I unfriended him today.  I unfriended him and all his friends.  Because I didn’t want to care and I figured it wouldn’t be a big deal.  After all, it’s not like FB is real life, right?

WRONG.

He wrote me this email because apparently he noticed that we were no longer friends – I’m not sure how.  He then proceeded to more or less say that I was a liar about saying that we can be friends.  He said that he was sorry for whatever he did and he wished that he knew what it was.

So this puts me in a spot.  I’m annoyed that he felt he needed to email me and say this.  I’m annoyed that his stalker ways led him to finding out that I wasn’t friends with him.  But the thing that annoys me most is that he’s making SUCH A BIG DEAL out of this.

(As if I’m not writing a blog post ranting about how annoyed I am that he’s upset that we’re no longer friends.  It’s my glass house and I’ll throw stones if I want to.)

Now I feel the need to defend myself and my reasoning for not being his friend.  On a social media website.  It’s really killing me not to, but I know I shouldn’t say anything to him.  This is my life I’m living, not his.  If I need to not see what he’s up to, then I’m entitled to do that.

And you know, as I’ve said about 17 times so far, it’s FACEBOOK.  it’s not real.  It’s make-believe.  I’m friends with people on there that I didn’t even like in high school.  I’m friends with people that I don’t even care about.  Some of my close personal friends aren’t even ON facebook, but that doesn’t mean that we’re not friends.  In real life.  As you do.

So he can be upset about it.  He can rant and rave and shout and say nasty things about me on facebook (as I’m sure he’s doing right now).  He can unfriend all my friends.  This childish behavior does not make me want to be friends with him.  If he acted like an adult…well, that would be one thing.  But acting like a 12 year old girl that’s all insulted that someone doesn’t want to brain your hair?  I’m done with that stage of my life.

And now?  I’m totally done with him.  No facebook friends.  No real life friends.  This chapter is closed.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Then there was that one time someone called me names « Don't cry Muffin – tales of a 20 something

Leave a Reply

