Reverb ’11 Day 3 – Flying would kind of be awesome

Reverb ’11 prompt – Day 3 -How did you become more of a grown-up this year? Or did you pull a Peter Pan and stubbornly remain childlike?

I don’t think I became more of a grown up at all this year.  I’m still *dramatic sigh* living at my parents house.  Short sales take FOREVER.  I feel like we’re never going to move at this rate.  I mean, I know it’s for the best.  But it’s so frustrating to be at home.  On the weekends when I just want to sit in my pajamas all day and do nothing?  My parents are like “you’re not even going to get dressed today?”

No, I’m not.  I’m just going to stay like this and relax all day long.  THANKS GUYS.

But I have done things to grow up more.  I’ve increased the amount of my paycheck that I put into my 401K and into my savings account.  I’ve almost paid off my credit card entirely.  I’m back to making my lunch for the week and remembering to take it to work, instead of going home in the middle of the day to eat.  But to me, it’s the little things that I change that add up to the big things.  I need to procrastinate less – that’s what being an adult means to me.  It means that I do things (not important things, just thing things) in a more timely manner.  It’s calling people back when I need to.  It’s getting my personal life in order.  It’s not spending money on ridiculous things…just because I can.  So maybe in 2012, I won’t be hanging out in Never-never Land so much.

Then again – there’s nothing wrong with Never-Never Land.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 02:30:05

    Do ALL the things?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

