Reverb Broads ’11 Day 8 – Blogging. Sometimes

The question –  Why blog? Why do you or why do you like to blog (recognizing that these are not always the same thing)?

When I first started blogging way back when (I had a livejournal, yo), I did it to get some feelings out.  I was a Super Dramatic Teenager and EVERYONE really cared what I had to say.  Or at least I thought so.  From there…I just kept on doing it.

I’ve had a few blogs.  I had one all about guys that I met when I first started online dating.  It was pretty funny and most of the stories seemed so outrageous that it was really hard to believe that people like that existed.  But – SURPRISE – they did.

Once I had started dating one guy, I started a completely new blog.  I felt like I was in a different place in my life.  That blog I didn’t keep for long.  I felt like there was too much sadness there.  And honestly, there was.  I had a lot of angry feelings towards other people, towards myself and towards the world.  So I started this blog.

I don’t blog as much as I should or can.  But I haven’t felt that inspiration as of late.  Blogging is something I do when I need to tell “someone” something.  It doesn’t even really matter if anyone reads it (although I love to know that people are reading).  Sometimes it’s good enough just to get the words out.  Knowing that I’ve said what I need to say – even if it’s to no one – sometimes helps me find my way or calm down about situations.

Blogging has turned me on to so many different things.  I’ve felt connected with people over their blogs, even if I have no idea who they are.  I’ve found other things that I like – podcasts, food, music, you name it – through blogs.  It’s a whole different world out here.  I find myself relating to people that I wouldn’t normally relate to.

Whether I blog for myself or because I’ve convinced myself that someone else gives a crap about what I have to say (they probably don’t), it’s nice to know that you’re not always shouting into the darkness.  Even one comment is enough to bring a smile to my face.

Leave a Reply

