Reverb ’11 Day 12 – Guilty Pleasures

Name and explain the one guilty pleasure you can’t live without. ie: that cupcake shop you visit weekly, a book you repeatedly read to find solace in, etc). Then explore the idea of how you would feel if you gave that thing up for a year.

One of my guilty pleasures is stopping for coffee on the way to work.  Whether it’s Starbucks, Dunkin or just the local bagel place, there’s no greater joy than doing that.  Starting out a morning with a pumpkin spice latte?  What could be better?  Coming in to work with some nice, hot coffee and knowing I can go right to my desk and get to work?  FABULOUS.

I know that coffee gets expensive.  And I can have coffee at work – especially now that we have a K-cup machine here – wahoo!  But let’s face facts – this gets expensive easily.  And like I said, I can just have coffee at work.  But sometimes, I need that little treat.  I need to have the little pick-me-up of knowing that someone else has prepared my coffee better than I have myself.  It’s a nice thing to have.

My other guilty pleasure?  I always get a cupcake when I go into NYC.  I’m lucky to have a good friend that lives in Manhattan and always knows where the best cupcakes are.  Granted, there’s a Magnolia in GCT, but sometimes, it’s good to go somewhere else.  Like Billy’s.  Or something like that.

And the third one?  I live near Dooney and Burke.  You know, the maker of fancy bags.  Every December they have this big ass tent sale where they have just about everything…ON SALE.  I’ve been going for the past few years.  It’s really hard NOT to buy a bag for $50 that was once like, $345.  I know I don’t need those bags.  But man, when you’re in a tent that’s just filled with beautiful leather bags?  It’s hard to say no

Leave a Reply

