Reverb ’11 Day 14 – Making a difference

Is volunteering something you do regularly? If yes where do you volunteer? If not, why not?

This is a question I have no problem answering.  As I’ve mentioned about 3,897,792 times, I volunteer at an animal shelter.  And it’s one of the most rewarding and stressful things that I do.

I like knowing that I’ve made a difference in an animal’s life.  And yes, it might not be as noble as working with sick kids or something like that, but I like it.  KNowing that we can change a dog from an unsocialized terror to a wonderful pet is a great feeling.

But at the same time, the politics of the shelter have started to bother me.  Not all the adopters are as awesome as I’d like them to be.  I’ve had people yell at me.  Straight up yell at me when something doesn’t go their way – like someone else is putting in an application for a dog that that they wanted to see.  I’ve had people just leave their pets at our doorstep.  Or next to the dumpster.  I’ve seen the worst in people.

But I’ve also met a group of people that are so dedicated to one cause.  And that?  It’s a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

