Reverb ’11 Day 15 – Spicing up my life

In case you forgot – I’ve been participating in Reverb Broads ’11.  The prompt for the 15th (I’m behind.  So sue me) is…

Did you taste any new flavors this year? Did you love or hate them or something in between? Will you incorporate these new flavors into your life?

This year, I got way into Indian food.  And thai food.  I’m not sure why, exactly – but any chance I get to have those sorts of food?  I’m on it.  I don’t know why I find these foods so delicious, I just know they are.

Maybe because I feel like when you make Indian food or Thai food, you’re not using all the crap that you would normally use when you make “american food”?  I don’t know – I’m not in my brain.

I’m not going to try to cook Indian food.  That’s just..a bad idea.  I’ll screw it all up.  And you know when you make really ethnic foods, you need all sorts of different, random spices that you’ll only use once.  My friend’s parents have a recipe for Pork Lo Mein that’s apparently amazing.  But you need 15 different spices and only use about a teaspoon of each.  That stuff gets expensive quick.

Oddly enough, the best Thai food I’ve ever had was in Atlanta.  Who knew?

Leave a Reply

