An update on some things

I forgot I had a blog.  Honestly.  I was just so wrapped up in everything that was going on that I forgot that I wrote about things.

When we last spoke, I was having problems with my back.  So I saw a spinal surgeon, who recommended surgery.  That caused me to promptly freak out. I made an appointment with a neurosurgeon…who recommended the same thing.  That wasn’t an easy choice to make.  I didn’t even know if the surgery was going to work.  Both doctors suggested that the damage to my nerves from the disc herniation could be permanent.  There was the chance that I would never regain feeling in my foot, the muscles would continue to be weak and that I would walk with a limp for the rest of my life.

SEXY AND I KNOW IT

I had the surgery about a month ago.  It was out patient surgery and really, as far as the neurosurgeon was concerned, a really straightforward surgery.  My surgery was at 11 and I was out of the hospital by 7.  I was having a nervous breakdown before my surgery, but calmed down once they put something nice in my IV.  After my surgery, I was out of work for 3 weeks.

But now I’m back.  And I feel…amazing.  I feel so much better.  I have the feeling back in my foot (!!!!) and don’t walk all funny and finally feel like I can get back to my life again.  I’ve started PT and I’ve continued walking every day.  I feel great. I know I made the right choice.

Having the surgery was really holding me back.  It was a road block that I didn’t know if I could get around.  But I did.  Now I feel like I can move on with things.  I can get my life back on track and do what I need to do.

Leave a Reply

