Future Husband, I have a confession…

I did this last week just because.  And then I got to thinking more and think it’s a great idea.  Totally weird.  But absolutely great.

Dear Future Husband,

I have a confession – sometimes I think about what our wedding will be like.  And by that I mean I dream of all the things that I can do.  See, I’m sort of crafty.  Or I’d like to think that I am.  And sometimes my head gets all filled up with things from pinterest that I think I can do.  Perhaps I can do them.  it’s really hard to say.  Regardless, I already know how I want our wedding to be.

You can have input.  You hate the centerpieces that I’ve already designed in my head?  Fine, we’ll change them.  you don’t like the idea of pie for dessert?  Okay, we can have cake.  You don’t want a big bridal party?  I’m sorry, I can’t help that. We can compromise though.  There are plenty of things we don’t have to do.

But we do have to make our wedding a total dance party.  We do have to have an after the wedding party.  And the next morning?  We need to have brunch.  These are things that you cannot deny would be super fun.  I’d like to think that our wedding will just be one huge party.  Because that’s what it should be – a celebration of two people coming together.

Many people I know are in serious relationships right now.  Even more people are married.  But we’re not there quite yet, Future Husband.  I know we will be one day.  That just means that when we get married, it’s going to be a big blow out.  People will be talking about our wedding because it will be the only one at the time.  We’ll hire babysitters for our friend’s kids so they can come and enjoy the wedding.  We’ll do everything we can to make the day stress free.

Whenever I think about our wedding, Future Husband, I realize tht I forget one thing.  I forget that our wedding is about you and me joining our lives.  And it’s not about the dress and the food and the booze and the flowers and the music.  It’s about you and me and forever.  I’ll try to keep that in mind.

But I can’t lie – the food and the music and the dress and the booze are good things.  But nothing as good as being with you.

XO

Sarah

Leave a Reply

